Updated:

Use request labels to customize your workflow and finetune your reporting

Tikkit requests exist in two states: open and closed. Nice and simple, but for some people, a little too simple. Request labels allow you to set more complex workflows, moving requests through different states from creation to final resolution.

A request label can be anything you dream up: Waiting for approval. In process. Part ordered. Needs tenant sign-off. Duplicate request. Send invoice. Once you set up your request labels, assign them to requests to track their state. Combine request labels with custom views and reports to optimize your workflow.

Remember: only administrators can configure Tikkit

The ability to manage request labels and other settings in Tikkit is restricted to administrator accounts.

Managing request labels

To manage request labels:

  1. Go the the settings page (click on the gear icon in the upper right: ).
  2. Click on "Customization" in the sidebar.
  3. Click on the “Request Labels” tab.

You will see a list of your current request labels.

Creating new request labels

Click the "Add new" button and fill out the related fields:

  • Name (required). The request label name will be displayed in the Tikkit user interface. This value has to be unique.
  • Color. Every request label has a color associated with it, to help it stand apart in the user interface. Colors don't have to be unique, although you will find request labels easier to use if they are.
  • Defaults. As a convenience, you can identify default request labels:
    • If a label is the default for new requests, it will be automatically selected when requests are created. Users can override the default, but if they do nothing, the default will be applied to the new request.
    • If a label is the default for closed requests, it will be automatically selected when requests are closed. This default an also be overridden by users when they close requests.

Defaults can be handy if you have a standard workflow that you want to impose. For example, say you need to confirm that any requested work is under warranty before committing to do it. The default label for new requests might be "Under review". And if you want to move all requests to a default resolution state when they are closed (such as "Work complete") you can do this using the default on close option. There can be at most one default for new requests and for closed requests.

When you are done setting up the request labels, click save to create it.

Adding a new label looks like this:

Modifying labels

From the request labels overview screen, there are several modifications you can make:

  • To change the order in which labels appear in the interface, click the row in the table, hold down the mouse button, and drag the row to a new position.
  • Click the pencil icon at the end of a row to edit the label properties.
  • To delete a label, click the pencil icon and then click the “Delete request label” button.

If you delete a request label, you may receive a warning about any existing open requests that have that label assigned. It's fine to delete labels that are assigned to existing requests—the label will simply be removed from all requests—but please be aware that this action can't be undone.

Have more questions? Submit a request